Carbon vacuum layup

More
11 years 7 months ago #12790 by coldwater
To owners of carbon skis...

How do you rate the longevity and durability of ski's in the carbon layup?

I've heard they are very fragile and susceptible to dings & become brittle etc?
Bunk or truth...?

I'm considering getting a FENN in the carbon layup and am interested to hear opinions please!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 7 months ago #12797 by Nige
Replied by Nige on topic Re: Carbon vacuum layup
Hi,

I've owned 3 carbon Fenns, first the Mako 6, then the Elite and now the Elite SL, so I have 6 years of experience with carbon Fenns. I paddle 4 times a week in the ocean and have done the full Durban Winter Series every year in my carbon Fenns, including lots of big surf. My carbon skis have taken a lot of punishment while paddling and have survived well.

I have found carbon skis to be at least as strong as glass ones in use, and they are a lot stiffer and lighter, so are a pleasure to paddle and well worth the extra cost, in my view. Basically the only thing you have to watch with carbon is impact damage, especially from sharp objects. Its quite easy to puncture if hit by a sharp object.

I sold my Elite to a fellow paddler and its still going strong after 5 years, with no visible signs of degradation. (The Mako 6 wasn't so lucky, the guy I sold it to got wiped out in the monstrous shorebreak at La Mercy during the 2010 World Cup, but any ski would have broken the way he hit the beach!)

So in summary, I've had very good service out of Fenn carbon skis and they're nowhere near as fragile or disposable as many people think.
The following user(s) said Thank You: coldwater, leolinha

More
11 years 7 months ago #12805 by coldwater
Replied by coldwater on topic Re: Carbon vacuum layup
'Impact damage' is certainly an often heard phrase when talking about carbon ski's.