LS Tarpon

More
2 years 6 days ago #39635 by davide
LS Tarpon was created by davide
Hi
I am looking for a robust ski that can handle some bigger waves. My beautiful Blue-fin - lovely as it is on downwinds - is proving fragile when caught by larger waves and is now in for repairs for the 5th time.
I'm not an expert paddler, am over the R100kg mark required for most skis, and am looking for advice.
I like the spec LS skis but they are a little tippy and tight for me, but I've been reading about the Fenn LS Tarpon, which is meant to be more stable than the standard LS, but still good at riding waves.

Does anyone have:
a) Feedback on the Fenn LS Tarpon
b) A Tarpon to test paddle (Cape town - deep south if possible). They seem to be rare and I have yet to see one around
c) Any other advice on robust play skis for larger paddlers.
Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 6 days ago #39637 by mickeyA
Replied by mickeyA on topic LS Tarpon
Fenn Tarpon S deep seat should fit the bill, if you can find one. Btw, the letters “LS” are used for the name of Fenn’s more tippy spec model, so if you ask for “LS Tarpon”, some may think “LS”, while most would probably know you mean “Tarpon”. The Tarpon S deep seat is much more stable than other spec skis I’ve tried, seat is nice and wide, and as is the case for all specs, they are more durable than ocean skis. That said, smashing waves in shallow water can destroy anything. I bought my Tarpon S new (shipped to US) soon after they transitioned to the “S” version (did not even know that’s what I was getting until it arrived), and soon before the fire. So I’m not even sure if they are making Tarpon S right now. I’m surprised there are not more stable specs out there for those that like to surf on bigger days and maybe not enter official SLSA races. The huge swell that hit Australia a couple months ago had nothing but specs go out to surf. Good luck.