paddling injury

More
12 years 7 months ago #7486 by boss
paddling injury was created by boss
I am new to ocean paddling and have found I am getting a sore left elbow. I have previoulsy paddled kayaks and not had the same soreness. I paddle 3/4 week about 12ks. Any body got any tips or ideas what the cause is other than getting old.

THXS

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 7 months ago #7487 by Kayaker Greg
Replied by Kayaker Greg on topic Re:paddling injury
Is it like tennis elbow? If so, perhaps you need to relax your grip on the paddle, when not pulling on that side open the hand. I run a little grip tape on my paddles, this enables an overall looser relaxed grip without the paddle slipping in my grasp.

More
12 years 7 months ago #7490 by AR_convert
Replied by AR_convert on topic Re:paddling injury
A few tips from my experience.

Apart from Greg's suggestion (which I also do)...

Since switching to an adjustable paddle I have changed the blade angles so there is much less wrist flexion required, that has helped me.

Rather than paddle 12km 3/4 times a week try alternating shorter paddles with longer paddles to give the elbow a rest until it adjusts to the workload.

If using a long paddle or large blade reduce the length of the paddle or size of blade to use cadence instead of grinding away with a long paddle/large blade.

Apart from that, "ICE" as soon as you finish paddling to reduce inflammation. I good way to ice small spots like the elbow apart from the bag of peas trick is to freeze water in a disposable cup, cut the bottom of the cup away and then apply it to the area so you can also massage it with the ice block.

Always looking for the next boat :)

More
12 years 7 months ago #7518 by boss
Replied by boss on topic Re:paddling injury