Seeking feedback on ski design

More
14 years 11 months ago #3134 by Boof Head
Hi All,
I am seeking some feedback on the 2 designs in the attached file.
When I started playing around with KayakFoundary to design my own ski, I was after the following;
* similar stability to my Red7Surf70 (I'm 6'3"&100kgs)
* As fast if not faster than my Red7
* Ability to turn, which my Red7 can't do very well.
* Aiming for an overall weight of 17kgs. Will be strip built from paulownia or western red cedar.

MY PROFILE
I'm a recreational paddler who mainly paddles on flatwater but am spending much more time in the open ocean & riding waves. I participate in a race every now and then with an exit and entry through surf and will generally be in the mid-field. I plan on doing some longer downwind paddles eventually.

Appreciate all comments and if you want the actual design files, go to the KF forum at www.blueheronkayaks.com and look through the ocean racer thread.

cheers, Boof

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 11 months ago #3135 by Boof Head
file was too big to attach. will join a file sharing thingo tomorrow and upload.

More
14 years 11 months ago #3141 by Boof Head
www.4shared.com/file/98599147/a64551e1/MOJO.html

Also, if anybody has any drag statistics for a typical surfski over a range of speeds/knots, that would be helpful.

Cheers

• Brad
  • Visitor
14 years 11 months ago #3142 by Brad
Replied by Brad on topic Re:Seeking feedback on ski design
Hi
Looking good so far. Some food for thought below:
It looks to be a good deal more tippy than your Surf 70 - may need a flatter area under and behind the seat? Also, you could try a finer entry, reducing both the waterline and deck width at the footrest? I think current designs are well under 400mm wide at the deck and say 330mm on the waterline ...