Finding info in CT

More
15 years 5 months ago #2551 by MarcS
Finding info in CT was created by MarcS
Hi Folks,

My girlfriend and I (And a buddy of mine.) are very keen to get involded in surfskiing.

We are complete novices and would like to find out more about the sport. (Never even been on a surfski.)

What/where is the best way to go about it? (We do not wish to go through a "school" at this point. We would first like to try it out and take it from there.)

What ski(s) should we consider as novices?

Where in CT are the best places for novices to learn without having to go through too much surf? (Preferably on the Blouberg/Western side.)

Ideally we would like to hire a set of ski's and try it out and then decide if it is the way we wish to go. (This is pretty much for my girlfriend to see if it is for her as I know that I want to get involved.)

Please forward any and all relevant info.

What safety requirements are there? Once experienced enough, I can think of nothing better than going for a morning paddle by myself.

Is this "done" or do you generally paddle with 2 or more?

Many thanks,
Marc S

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 years 5 months ago #2552 by YBA/Jim Murray
Use the school. You are lucky to have it there-all your questions plus ones you have not thought of yet will be answered for a nominal sum. Big water is not really the place for beginners to be alone. Calm water may not be as benign as it appears.
The cost will likely be more than returned by learning what equipment to buy. What price for your friends safety?

More
15 years 5 months ago - 15 years 5 months ago #2553 by MarcS
Replied by MarcS on topic Re:Finding info in CT
Hi YBA,

I hear you. I am not discreditting safety or the School(s) at all.

I have been involved in several other forms of watersports and I believe in safety first at all times.