Beginner in Sendai, Japan

• Rod Thomas
  • Visitor
11 years 8 months ago #12664 by Rod Thomas
Beginner in Sendai, Japan was created by Rod Thomas
I’ve been following these forums for many weeks and picking up tips here and there from you all. I’ve been a kind of perpetual novice. 15 years ago I ordered a custom-made surfski from Brian’s Kayaks in Paarden Eiland. It was wide and short and I brought it to Tokyo and had fun paddling the Arakawa and Edogawa rivers but when I took it into the sea it didn’t handle the waves well due to its over-the-stern rudder and it was also blown about in a high wind. 11 years ago we moved to Sendai and I used it a bit when the sea was flat but not much.
In 2010 we returned to SA and stayed in Fish Hoek and Rocklands and saw the whole population on the water and zipping by on Miller’s Runs when it was too windy even to braai. I went to the Paddling Centre and asked the kind staff there including Dawid Mocke all sorts of stupid questions and ended up ordering a Horizon from Custom Kayaks. Two weeks after arriving back in Sendai we were hit by the tsunami (we escaped to high ground but our car was washed away) and the importer who was going to import it for me went out of business as Japanese stayed away from water sports as a sort of voluntary self-restraint. Mark Lewin put in a lot of work trying to export it for me and it eventually arrived in April this year. I love my Horizon: it is seaworthy, stable and fast (for me).