Slouching / Not sitting up straight

More
10 years 3 weeks ago #20273 by TheJameSA
Hey Guys

I am a relative beginner and have over the past year systematically improved my gear as I'm improving.

I can do up to 30kms now, so my fitness seems to be okay.

One major problem though, I keep slouching.

I am quite tall(1.86).

Any tips on sitting up straight? Is it just habit?
Would like to sort this out before I buy my next ski.

Thanks (from Langebaan, South Africa)

James

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 3 weeks ago - 10 years 3 weeks ago #20274 by LaPerouseBay
I'm your height and also a relative newcomer to the sport - almost 3 years now. I'm also kinda old at 53.

As I progress, it's clear to me that posture and technique are more important than I once thought.

There is a good reason Oscar (and I'm guessing all the other top pros) devotes a significant amount of his time on the water to drilling his form.

Sitting tall is tippier - but the payoff is huge. It will set your hips better for a good leg drive. That all ties into your hips and back - which is where your real power is.

The timing of a good plant up front is everything. Don't cheat on that one either. A well planted blade is where you should get your stability. Pull up front then rotate the blade out of the water. That's what wings are designed for.

Balance then power then speed.

Advice on the internet it kinda like medical advice. It's very general, we are all different - with various joint issues.

But I've watched all the videos, read all the advice and can say that (in my case) proper form cannot be underestimated.

When I devote a block of time (months) to balance and form - I always come back faster than before. The real icing on the cake is that it's so much easier on my body. That's a win-win situation in my book.

Skis are like any other sport. If you can engage the hips, that's when the magic happens. Sit up straight and use your legs!