Vaaka cadence meter review

More
10 years 4 months ago #19518 by Love2ski
My wife gave me the vaaka cadence meter for Christmas. This is my review after using it twice.

I am a beginner/intermediate paddler and started paddling a little over a year ago. I started on an xt and a few months ago moved to a new v10. I'm still getting the hang of the boat in the bump.

The vaaka is a simple unit that has no buttons on it. It simply starts when it senses motion. A little red led tells you it is on. Syncing it with my garmin 910 xt was pretty simple. You just change the mode to bike on the gps and follow the steps you can find on the internet to sync the device.

Putting the unit on my paddle was very easy. It just has a rubber strap.

I set my garmin to only show heart rate and cadence. That way I could concentrate only on those measures rather than chasing speed. When I fired everything up the gps quickly found the cadence sensor and my heart rate and displayed both without any issues.

I first tried the sensor in a balmoral blast race on Sydney harbour. I had driven 10 hours the day before and had a week away from paddling eating and drinking. No the best prep. The harbour was surprisingly bumpy and I struggled a fair bit.

Not surprisingly there was a direct correlation between my cadence and my boat speed. When I wasn't struggling with bump my cadence was around 38-40 double strokes per minute. My boat speed was good for me at around 10.5 to 11 kmhr. In the bump I dropped to around 33 and my speed died big time. Also there were periods in the race where I thought my cadence was good but it was 36-38. I was slow during these periods and was tired. My stroke had stretched out and was too long. My boat speed dropped to about 9.5kmhr.