Intermediate ?

More
6 years 5 months ago #30175 by denlong
Intermediate ? was created by denlong
Ok, reality check this morning. I've been paddling an Epic V8 for about 18 months now, probably about 2000 km. No kayak experience before that, I'd done sup for a few years. I'm very comfortable in the V8, I've even been out in 3' seas a couple of days, no problem going upwind or even turning around. The first few waves I caught threw me out, but trying just to go straight I started to catch some glides. So much fun. I'm more comfortable in the ski than on any sup. I broke the rudder on my V8, and being in southern Baja (Mexico) it's difficult and time consuming to get a replacement. Starting me to think, I need a backup ski. Maybe I should step up to an intermediate ski? V10S, or maybe Huki S1-R, Jude says on his website he ships anywhere, I haven't heard back from him if that includes So Baja. I borrowed an older Think Ion this morning, I must have fallen out 15 times, I never even got my but in the bucket, and a leg in the water on either side of the boat. Completely shook my confidence. I started thinking maybe I should get an Ultra layup V5 (Hahaha). I understand an Ion is not an intermediate ski. Being 1000 miles south of the border makes going anywhere to demo, complicated and expensive. Any thoughts? Thanks, Dennis.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 5 months ago #30176 by AR_convert
Replied by AR_convert on topic Intermediate ?
Once upon a time (not so long ago) when I first started ski paddling skis like the V10 sport were considered beginner skis :ohmy:

With the growth of the sport the spectrum ski models stability has increased substantially.

We can probably start using the terms Beginner, Novice, Intermediate and Elite so boats like the V10 sport and Think Evo become the novice skis.