V12 to K1 what to expect.....

More
12 years 1 week ago #11327 by candela
I'm probably going to be moving soon and I won't have anywhere to store my V12 due to lack of garage space and no backyard but I would likely be able to fit a 5.2m k1 in the garage. I won't need to sell the V12 because I can store it at my parents place for weekend training and racing in the ocean.

At the moment I train 4-5 days a week on the V12. 3 of those days are on flat canals due to location and the weekends are in the ocean. I've been paddling the V12 performance for almost 2 years now and don't feel I have too much of a problem with stability. I don't want my fitness to slip when I move, and still being very close to the water I'd still want to train on water rather than an ergo.

I've never paddled a K1 before and I'd be interested in opinions on what to expect in regards to speed and stability levels in relation to a v12 or equivalent.

Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 1 week ago #11329 by Rob1
The k1 will feel tippy at first however you will get use to it after a few paddles. Regarding the speed alot of Paddlers seem to believe ocean skis are just as fast as the k1's but they are not. On a flat water 10km distance coarse my best times in the k1 are around 3mins
quicker then paddling the skis(v12 and fenns). Once you master the k1 you will find the stability of the ski will be like paddling a barge. Thanks Rob

More
12 years 1 week ago - 12 years 1 week ago #11330 by Edge540
K1 will be way more tipier. Also it has higher seating position.
Far as speeds...on slower pace there is not much difference.
Top speed...K1 is faster (on flat water)
If you can paddle comfortable in V12 it should not be too bad to
get used to K1. You might swim few times, but with practice you
should be able adapt to it fairly quickly.
Last edit: 12 years 1 week ago by Edge540.

More
12 years 1 week ago #11332 by candela