The last word... On the fastest flat water ski!

More
12 years 1 month ago #10829 by Rightarmbad
I'm test driving the new Nelo XXL next week, you may want to put that or the XL on your shopping list too.

Follow the path of the independent thinker. Expose your ideas to the dangers of controversy. Speak your mind and fear less the label of 'crackpot' than the stigma of conformity. And on issues that are important to you, stand up and be counted at any cost.--- Thomas J. Watson

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 1 month ago #10832 by mckengmsurfski
I've been paddling a Nelo Vintage Ski for around 9 months now. It's a fast ski for sure, slightly faster than my V12 Ultra was in my hands in comparisons in similar conditions. The Vintage is their 'intermediate' ski, but it's definitely less stable than a V12.
RAB, I'd be interested to hear your impressions after your test drive of the XXL. Is the ski you're trying the updated '12 model or is it the '10-11 model? Sounds like they've made some needed updates to the '12 model. Are you doing a strictly flat water paddle, or do you get to take it out in the ocean?

More
12 years 1 month ago #10833 by Rightarmbad
It will be a new carbon ski and there is no way I will purchase without an ocean paddle.

From what I have read, the XXl is actually a tiny bit wider across the rear than my V10, a little less jittery around the top than the V12, but no where near as strong in the secondary.

I have quite purpously only paddled 3 times in the last 2 weeks so that I know what it is like without the personal surefootedness of paddling everyday.
I will be paying particular attention to bucket comfort and intend to put in a 9km round trip down the river to see if there are any problems.
If anything will show up bucket problems, this will.

After that, I'd be quite happy just to take it out the alley and put in a couple of km in the ocean, if I don't like it by then, then it's not for me.