Carbonology Zest

More
12 years 3 months ago #9821 by richardh
Carbonology Zest was created by richardh
I've paddled this in the river and on an ocean paddle with mainly 1.5m waves and chop. I liked the ski, but I felt that it was a tad tippy for when I started getting tired. Time constraints mean I haven't dedicated ocean paddling practice time.

Has anyone any comments on the Zest?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• DvanB
  • Visitor
12 years 3 months ago #9824 by DvanB
Replied by DvanB on topic Re: Carbonology Zest
Hi Richardh,

I've got a Vault and a Zest, so have been able to compare them, albeit briefly, back to back. I've been paddling since April last year, so I'm no expert by any means, but I do about 50km per week on average. My paddling waters are a mixture of flat and ocean, with rather small, short wavelength swells. I did a back to back paddle in about 8-10 knots of breeze, around a man-made island just offshore, so the conditions were extremely mild. The loop is just over 4km, starting with an upwind paddle in flat water, then around the top of the island with confused chop coming from three directions, then an angled downwind run with the swell coming over my left shoulder, finishing off with a sheltered paddle in the lee of the island, and across flat water back to the start. By no means difficult or testing conditions, but it is a start. Compared to the Vault, the Zest is very stable. My girlfriend, who can't stay upright in the Vault for more than 10 seconds, on her second paddle of the Zest managed 1.5km without falling out. In the confused chop at the top of the island I had to concentrate hard with the Vault, but hardly gave it a thought in the Zest. The bucket is a bit wider on the Zest (I think), and it makes dropping into the seat during a remount a lot easier. Remounting in general is a breeze. Despite its stability it doesn't give much, if anything, away in terms of speed as far as I've been able to ascertain.