Newble from Toronto

More
6 years 2 months ago #30807 by SpaceSputnik
Hey all

I am a complete ski newbie and generally pretty recent to paddling. Did some sea kayaking last season, took classes and whatnot. While loved being in the Toronto harbours didn't love being packed into a boat, weird sitting position, wet exits and all the mandatory gear one is supposed to carry in a sea kayak as well as a never-ending array of required self-rescue skills.

So, decided to transition to a ski and when an opportunity arose picked up a mint gen 2 Epic V7 from a private seller along with an Epic wing paddle.
Now just need to wait for the season. I am reasonably fit with good core strength. Been lifting weights consistently over last couple years so I believe I should be well set to start paddling the ski.

Meanwhile, is there anything I can do to better prepare for the season. I believe I am set for gear and clothing (3/4 wetsuit and a PFD of course), roof racks and all. I lined up an instructor for an intro lesson when the season comes.

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 2 months ago #30812 by tve
Replied by tve on topic Newble from Toronto
Welcome to the sport! Other items I found necessary are a hydration bladder to fit into the PFD (rear pocket, if there is one), waterproof bag for phone (incl. camera), and possibly VHF marine radio if appropriate in your locale. Oh, also a hat that stays on when you go for a swim... Overall I always check three times whether I have everything when I lock my car because there's so little to take it feels like I must have forgotten something :-)
The following user(s) said Thank You: SpaceSputnik

More
6 years 2 months ago #30814 by SpaceSputnik
Replied by SpaceSputnik on topic Newble from Toronto
Thanks. In regards to the radio, I have been debating if I should go a PLB route instead. But having read an article that they are may not work that well when you are floating I am not so sure.