What helped you get faster?

More
5 years 10 months ago - 5 years 10 months ago #31760 by d0uglass
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to surfski but I'm working hard at it. My speeds went up quickly as my stability went from terrible to OK, but now I've kind of hit a plateau (see figure).

What do you all remember from your surfski learning experiences about things that helped you get faster? Was it a gradual thing that came with time, or were there specific breakthroughs in technique, training, or gear that helped a lot? And how fast are you, if you don't mind me asking? I'm trying to figure out what's a good benchmark flatwater speed for a 39 year old prospective amateur racer to aspire to.

Thanks,
James

Stellar SEI 1g
Attachments:
Last edit: 5 years 10 months ago by [email protected]. Reason: Inserted figure into text

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 10 months ago #31761 by LakeMan
Replied by LakeMan on topic What helped you get faster?
When an obese individual starts to eat right and exercise they lose weight very fast. Over time that rate slows down until its at a crawl. Progress till occurs but it's almost unnoticeable yet it's still there.

Same with surfskiing. You are improving, you just aren't noticing the small changes.

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts." - Winston Churchill
The following user(s) said Thank You: d0uglass

More
5 years 10 months ago #31762 by RedBack
Replied by RedBack on topic What helped you get faster?
As you spend more time in the ski you'll find you plateau at different levels as you gradually "fix" one element of your technique, then move on addressing other aspects.

It's a process and it will take time. There'll be periods where the improvement is slow and as Lakeman said, almost imperceptible. There'll also be "eureka" moments when a technique change will just "click" and your speed increases almost overnight.