New Paddler Central Coast NSW

More
4 years 7 months ago #35182 by Craig M
Hi, like Crab Stick's recent post I am also new to paddling and in my late 40's. I did a lot of wave skiing back in the day when they were popular but saw the new ski's and thought - that's for me!

I managed to find an old Dorado in really good condition that I am getting the hang of. To be honest I really struggled at first but now I can cruise at 8.5km/hr (flat water - 5 paddles in) and its steadily going up each time I get out. I saw that the Dorado's are capable of 11.5 so I have a long way to go. I am fortunate to live on the beach and be surrounded by lakes so I have no excuses. I cant believe how technical this is, catch, leg drive, rotation.........

I am loving this site, the tips and videos. I'll be chiming in with plenty of questions.

First One - if you were going to work on one item, where would you start. I'm currently doing slowish 10k paddles to get the feel of it. I don't want to race just get to the ocean and catch a few runners. I can kind of get pieces right at times and occasionally together but when I try to put power down is all goes to crap.

Thanks,,

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 7 months ago #35185 by Epicpaddler
Welcome to the club. Like you, I got into surfski paddling in my late 40's. I've been paddling for the past year and I love it. I got bit by the racing bug. Forgot how much I liked competition. Winning is fun, but I like the camaraderie of hanging around like minded people. I don't live in a really good downwind area. The few times I paddled in downwind conditions I thought it was amazing. The one thing I've worked on is soaking up as much info as I can to master the forward stroke. YouTube Oscar Chalupsky and Ivan Lawler surfski techniques. Leg drive and torso rotation is so  critical to power without using your arms.

More
4 years 7 months ago #35194 by tve
Replied by tve on topic New Paddler Central Coast NSW