Lower back pain and footplate angle

More
2 years 10 months ago - 2 years 10 months ago #38482 by Jipsu
Hi, Newbie here..

I have paddled surfskis since 2015. I have Stellar SEL g1 and SR g2 and they are just great boats. My paddling is mainly long distance orientated on flat water conditions (steep, short and choppy lake waves up to 70 cm).

However, last summer I tried to paddle 100 km distance with my SR, and it was very promising up to 40 kilometres. I got my speed over 9 km/h easily, but then something happened - my lower back started to hurt, and last ten kilometres were horrible - I had to stop just after only 50 kilometres.

After that experience I have been thinking what happened and why. I have usually paddled ultra long distances with fast sea touring kayaks with no problem, and I have used my skis for training and shorter distances up to 20 - 30 kilometres.

I find Stellar seats just ok, but now I have been thinking that the problem could have been caused by footplate position. - This spring I noticed that I feel better when I dont push my heels to footplate - of course I lose some support then, but it feels somehow more natural. It also seems to have influence on my overall posture, which turns a little bit more forward. So - now I have been thinking that perhaps unsuitable footplate position might have been the explanation for my back problem.

Has anyone of you guys had similar experiences?

Artisan g1
Seabird Designs 600 Sport
Avalon Melanie
Stellar SEL g1
Stellar SR g2
Kirton Tiger K1
Last edit: 2 years 10 months ago by Jipsu. Reason: Corrections...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 10 months ago #38483 by zachhandler