NELO 510

More
2 years 7 months ago #38936 by Dimitris Rapesis
NELO 510 was created by Dimitris Rapesis
Hi all,
I had been paddling my 17,5 feet touring sea kayak for 13 years when I decided to join the surfski sport.
I have recently purchased a NELO 510 surfski. My only previous experience was on an EPIC V7 (my friend's
ski) which I found quite stable. I live in Greece where surfski is a pretty new sport. There are only EPIC, NELO, and FENN local dealers and  therefore it is so difficult for somebody to test a couple of surfskis before he decides
to buy one.  CARBONOLOGY, STELLAR and THINK entry-level skis are not an option for us.
Although I can manage the NELO 510 in calm to moderate conditions, I can’t get onto 3 feet waves and apply full core power to accelerate onto waves.
In such conditions, I am getting destabilized and flooding the boat. Nelo 510 has its nose down in the water and therefore it is pushing more water into the cockpit. Nelo 510 according to the company is 510 cm long and 55 cm
wide. That makes the 510 wider than EPIC V7 & V8 (54cm) and FENN BLUEFIN (53cm) which is not true. I have measured my surfski 5 times. It’s 514 cm long and only 52,5 cm wide!!  That fact and the higher sitting position probably make it less stable than the EPIC V7.
I live in an area with a lot of winds and waves of 3-4 feet. I need a  bit more stable ski to enjoy paddling and start practicing downwind without taking too much care of stability. I am 56 year old and 95 kilos. I don’t
see any reason for upgrading to the next level surfski in the long future.
Your advice will be highly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 7 months ago #38937 by tve
Replied by tve on topic NELO 510