Struggling to get going

More
14 years 2 months ago - 14 years 2 months ago #4042 by rubberDuck
Hi all

I am a complete noob, and have to date had 5 hours on the water and I need some advice.

When starting I usually have my legs out as I was instructed and then give a few strokes to pick up some speed, but my problem starts when I need to put my feet into the ski. My paddle leash keeps getting in the way of my one foot, I then struggle getting it on the pedal, loose speed and focus, and then I go for a swim. :ohmy:

How do you guys manage the paddle leash and the feet since I see that paddle leashes are mostly tied just ahead of the pedals in the footwell?

Any advice is appreciated. I have a Think Evo BTW, which I seem to manage fine as soon as I get going.
Last edit: 14 years 2 months ago by rubberDuck.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 2 months ago - 14 years 2 months ago #4043 by superted
Replied by superted on topic Re:Struggling to get going
Maybe try the leash on the other leg. You can also get away with a shorter coiled calf leash on the EVO because of the dedicated leash attachment point, so it should'nt get down to yr feet.

Coiled leashes can stretch and be longer so maybe heat it under some hot water and recoil it around a broom handle to cool and it should shorten up again.
Last edit: 14 years 2 months ago by superted.

More
14 years 2 months ago #4044 by Dicko
Replied by Dicko on topic Re:Struggling to get going
Try changing the coil leash to 3mm spectra (boat shop)and it won't annoy you. When you've put in the hours, you won't even think about your leash, you'll be too busy thinking of reasons to justify buying something skinnier and made of carbon, and then how to hide the purchase from the missus.

More
14 years 2 months ago #4045 by LaPerouser
Hi

I have a Think Legend, which (I think) has a similiar dedicated leash attachment point to the Evo.