Confused - Upgrade to a Surf Ski or Kayak?

More
13 years 3 months ago #6021 by bigrod
Hi, I am looking for help and reading the net sites am only getting more confused so am looking for guidance from your experience.

I am looking at making the move up from my plastic kayak (Escape from Q-Kayaks) and invest in something serious. Looking at the different kyaks available I seem to have to make a difficult choice. I love to paddle fast and ride the swell, and a ski would suit this perfectly. I also like to rest & take in the view, and a sea kayak seems better for this. I am not looking at competing or doing long expeditions as I can only get to paddle 3 to 4 times a month.

I only paddle in the ocean off Safety Bay (Rockingham) where there is choppy 1-3 foot waves with bigger swell further out, and based on the fact that my Kyak is currently 75cm wide, stability is going to be my major issue. I want to be able to paddle alone so having a very light ski/kayak that I can lug to the beach and load on a car would also be a requirement.

I am 6ft3 and weigh just over 100kg. Yesterday I tried a Finn Molokai and only made it about 30 foot before falling out. Even in shallow flat water, I found the ski very hard to paddle.

Anything you can suggest would be appreciated.

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 3 months ago - 13 years 3 months ago #6022 by Dicko
Try the Finn endorfin. More stable, still fun and easy to remount. Pick them up second hand and good resale.
Last edit: 13 years 3 months ago by Dicko. Reason: crappy grammar

More
13 years 3 months ago #6026 by red_pepper