Hand Injury

• barch
  • Visitor
12 years 8 months ago #7516 by barch
Hand Injury was created by barch
Hi all,

I picked up an hand injury over the weekend after fighting my way upwind for 4km, I'm new to the sport and was pushing it too hard I guess (maybe with bad technique too). The injury is on my right (strong side) hand at the base of the thumb.

I've got quite large hands, and my guess is that its got something to do with gripping a paddle shaft that is too small in diameter for my hands. Right now I don't use gloves or any grip tape, just shaft as it comes.

Is this common? I assume that some layers of grip tape would help to build the diameter up, anyone got some wise words on matching shaft diameter to hand size? Or is one layer of grip tape typically enough, might be that it stops shaft slipping and hence one doesn't have to 'grip' shaft tightly to get control.

Cheers.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 8 months ago #7541 by kiwial
Replied by kiwial on topic Re: Hand Injury
What is the Injury?

• mrak
  • Visitor
12 years 8 months ago #7550 by mrak
Replied by mrak on topic Re: Hand Injury
Hi Barch,
You may find this site useful for identifying paddling injuries.

www.charleswmoore.org/wordpress/index.ph...ies-in-sea-kayaking/

More
12 years 8 months ago #7559 by [email protected]
Replied by [email protected] on topic Re: Hand Injury
Not sure if it's relevant, but I remember having very sore hands for months, maybe 18 months after I started paddling back in the day. I still get soreness in the finger joints sometimes.

I try to relax my hands when paddling now - make a conscious effort to do it every now and then.

I use racquet handle tape (as in squash or tennis racquet) on my paddle shaft - on the right ie my controlling hand. I find that makes things more comfortable and my hand doesn't slip. It does tend to cause blisters though if I haven't been doing long paddles.