Jantex Super Flex (Orange) shaft for a beginner surfski paddler

More
7 months 1 week ago #40634 by srullik
Hi everyone,

I'm an Israeli beginner surfski paddler who usually paddles at the sea.

As my first paddle, I was recommended to go with the Jantex GAMMA 730 size with the Orange letter shaft (the super flex).

According to the Jantex website, this shaft is for children...

Since I'm 49, pretty fit (1.76, 74 kg) and in good shape, maybe I should go with the Flexi Soft shaft?

Despite going through some of the threads here, I could not find the answer to my question.

I would greatly appreciate any advice you can provide (:

Tnx

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 months 1 week ago #40636 by mrcharly
I see Jantex have changed the naming.

Not sure about that blade size. That is the same as the medium minus, and quite a bit blade for surfski.
I bought that blade size for flatwater, and honestly it is a bit big for surfski, unless you are super strong.

Really, you need to try some blades. A smaller blade won't be a disadvantage long term, and will help when you need higher cadence when putting effort in to catch a wave.

The Jantex website doesn't say that shaft is for children, it says 'recommended for children'. In other words, 'Children should not use a stiffer shaft'. Flex shaft will save your shoulders. Maybe go with Jantex 720 and flexi soft.

Get the adjustment size right. The epic website is good for estimating this, but for your height you will probably paddle with 210cm. So buy a paddle adjustable from 205 up.

More
7 months 1 week ago - 7 months 1 week ago #40637 by srullik

I see Jantex have changed the naming.
Not sure about that blade size. That is the same as the medium minus, and quite a bit blade for surfski.
I bought that blade size for flatwater, and honestly it is a bit big for surfski, unless you are super strong.