Knysna Kayaks Robberg Express

More
14 years 1 month ago - 14 years 1 month ago #4084 by cptmayhem
HI guys,

newby to the sport of paddling, but have spent some time in K1's and K2's before, but only on flat water (for obvious reasons)

Just want to get your opinions on the Robberg Express, and it's suitability in the long run for a semi-intermediate kind of paddler. I don't want to get a beginner ski and then 3 months down the line get exasperated with a big wallowy whale that i bought to "wet my paddles" again.

As an aside- I weigh (currently) 95 kilos, and am 6ft tall. Plan on getting it down drastically in the next few months.

Any thoughts?
Last edit: 14 years 1 month ago by cptmayhem.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 1 month ago #4089 by wmongie
I was in the same boat as you ( :P ) just a short while ago!

I have been paddling surfskis for 18 months and currently paddle a Robberg Express (updated version). My experience with the Robberg may not be exactly what you are looking for as it's my 3rd boat since I started but you might find my views helpful nonetheless. I started on a Knysna Kayaks Stingray but quickly changed to a Red7 Surf70. I never really felt comfortable in the Red7 as we do a lot of around the cans type racing in our area and the Surf70 tends to handle like a barge. At 21kg, the boat was also quite heavy and I never felt like I could get it up to speed unless I got it onto a big wave.