Price?

More
12 years 1 month ago #10754 by hamishglen
Price? was created by hamishglen
I'm new to this, and keen to buy an Epic V8 Ultra (for the added stability).
Browsing 2nd hand - why are these waaaaaay more expensive than V10's or V12's?? The larger engine sizes are lighter also??
Can anyone shed some light?
I like the shorter length at 5.5m also.
6m+ 'aint fitting in my garage...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 1 month ago #10755 by [email protected]
Replied by [email protected] on topic Re: Price?
Supply and demand I should think - the V8s haven't been around long and they're popular so there won't be many on the second hand market yet. They'll always have a good resale value IMO because anyone can paddle them - the beginner market is much bigger than the elite level market (who would paddle V10/V12).

The weights depend on the layup - if you're looking at a glass V8, it'll be a lot heavier than than V10 Ultra (which is made of vacuum bagged carbon, etc.)

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.
Previously: Think Evo II, Carbonology Zest, Fenn Swordfish, Epic V10, Fenn Elite, Red7 Surf70 Pro, Epic V10 Sport, Genius Blu, Kayak Centre Zeplin, Fenn Mako6, Custom Kayaks ICON, Brian's Kayaks Molokai, Brian's Kayaks Wedge and several others...

More
12 years 1 month ago #10756 by CyberSki
Replied by CyberSki on topic Re: Price?
I agree with Robin on the supply/demand opinion. There seems to be a larger supply of "Club" and "Performance" heavier layups hitting the boat classifieds too. Not sure if these were simply due to paddlers wanting to "upgrade" to a lighter version or losing interest altogether - but wish those folks had all put up the extra cash for the lighter layups so we could reap the benefits of their flagging interest!

Maybe the prices will come down once the Stellar S18S and Think Eze shorter skis starting hitting the boards. However, don't expect that till next year.. :(