Newbie in Seattle needs help with conections.

More
11 years 7 months ago #12984 by Newbflat
Hi all.... First post here. I'm a beginner, actually a pre-beginner as I have never sat in a ski before. I have years and thousands of miles in sea kayaks and am/was an advanced white water paddler. The last few years I have done very little paddling. I have gained 30 lbs and turned into a slug. This is mostly due to several injuries, one being a rotated cuff issue. This phase of my life is now over! As of late I have made a conserved effort to get past my rotator cuff injury and start paddling again. A month in paddling 5 days a week and I'm doing ok, taking it slow and really enjoying being back on the water.

This flat water paddling really has me thinking about skis. At the moment I'm just working on getting back into some form of basic paddling shape without hurting my shoulder ( yes I'm also doing the requisite PT exercises). I'm paddling a slowish sea kayak ( Mariner Express) and can maintain an average of just a tick under 5mph/ 4.3 knots for an hour without hurting my shoulder. I know it's not very fast but I'm really trying to work on a basic fitness and my sholder rather than strength.

I really feel like its time for me to step up to paddling something faster and use a wing if I'm serious about fitness paddling. A surfski is the obvious choice and I'm motivated to stick with it and become a solid paddler. I really want to learn to use the properly and not wast time having to relearn bad habits.... done that been there.

Anyways.. Bah bla bla... What I'm really trying to find out is how to get connected with paddlers here in Seattle and get some formal and informal training. Also connecting with some other beginning paddlers for training and motivation. Poking around on-line has been fruitless in regards to contacts in the Seattle area and Bellingham is just to far to go regularly.