Secondhand beginner skis

More
9 years 5 months ago #22462 by Scooter
I'm a beginner paddler looking for a stable ski in Cape Town. Are there other places to look besides Gumtree? I'm going to test out a Horizon this weekend. Asking Price is R5500. Is this reasonable? Secondhand skis seem to go for anything between R1000 and R6000 in this category. I've paddled the Fenn Bluefin and wouldn't really like anything less stable than that. How does the Horizon compare? If I could get a secondhand Bluefin at a good price I'd be happy.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 5 months ago #22466 by [email protected]
Check with Pete Cole, also with Brian's Kayaks and maybe Dawid as well on prices for second hand Horizons... It would have to be in very good shape to justify that price (I think)!

From what I remember, the Horizon is stable, but not quite as stable as the Bluefin - anyone else like to comment?

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.
Previously: Think Evo II, Carbonology Zest, Fenn Swordfish, Epic V10, Fenn Elite, Red7 Surf70 Pro, Epic V10 Sport, Genius Blu, Kayak Centre Zeplin, Fenn Mako6, Custom Kayaks ICON, Brian's Kayaks Molokai, Brian's Kayaks Wedge and several others...
The following user(s) said Thank You: Scooter

More
9 years 5 months ago - 9 years 5 months ago #22468 by Nige
Replied by Nige on topic Secondhand beginner skis
The Bluefin and Epic V8 are ultra stable skis, the Horizon isn't quite as stable as either of the above, but it is still quite acceptable as a beginner's ski, our club has trained lots of beginners on Horizons.

R5500 is pretty pricey for a 2nd hand Horizon, it would have to be as good as new to justify that price.

You may battle to find a 2nd hand Bluefin, they haven't been on the market for too long so there aren't that many around. Not too many V8's in SA either.

The Fenn XT is worth looking at too, basically the same stability as the Horizon.