Looking for new ski

More
5 months 4 weeks ago #40706 by Equibelle
I need to drive several hours to get anywhere to try out new surf skies. I have no experience other than in my super stable Futura II and my (to me) super tippy Findeisen X and would like something in-between with newer design. Both are 1998 models with double foot wells and no foot strap. The Findeisen's cockpit is a tad too narrow and hurts my hips after a couple of miles so I need a little larger bucket.

I'm a female, but tall at 5'11". I have good balance but the Findeisen is not comfortable and I have been washed over when motorboats go by too fast and close...still learning. There is a Stellar dealer 5+ hours away so I was thinking of trying out a Falcon due to comments about wider seat but it's a new design and i want rather buy used. I'm rough on my boats, loading and unloading myself, so a new boat would get old quick. Anyway, is there something similar to to the Eagle which has been out for a while?

I do fitness paddling on local rivers and also club races. I have no one to train with so avoid open water. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 months 3 weeks ago - 5 months 2 weeks ago #40710 by Steve Hansen
Replied by Steve Hansen on topic Looking for new ski
Where are you located ? Weight, age ? Off the top of my head I'd say look for a used Fenn XT. Other possibilities are Epic V10, V10 Sport, V10L, Fenn Swordfish, Stellar SR. These are all intermediate level skis that have been around for awhile and show up occasionally on the used market. In my opinion stay away from full carbon lay-ups- very light but also very fragile.
Last edit: 5 months 2 weeks ago by Steve Hansen. Reason: addition.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Equibelle

More
5 months 3 weeks ago - 5 months 3 weeks ago #40711 by SpaceSputnik
Replied by SpaceSputnik on topic Looking for new ski