Ski/Kayak Advice

More
5 years 3 weeks ago #33917 by Matt13
Ski/Kayak Advice was created by Matt13
Hi 
I’m new to paddling.
6’4 @100kg
started paddling a borrowed sea kayak to compete in an adventure race and have got into paddling and after a boat for myself.
have been doing all paddling in a calm protected river
i borrowed a friends V12, bit unstable first paddle but managed 10kms on 2nd paddle staying upright, did find I was skipping strokes every now and then.
Trialed a long recreational class kayak which I found more stable and similar pace over 5 km, it was very light at 10.8kg

i did find that on the ski due to my feet constantly under the strap I got numbness at times in my legs where I was able to move my legs slightly in the ski to relieve the numbness.
Also even on the calm waters the ski was quite wet compared to the kayak. Question if a kayak would be better for winter paddling.

i do hope to do more adventure races in rivers, is a ski ok in small rapids or are you better with a trailing rudder?
i have noticed ski seem much more popular than kayaks, and I do live on the beach, so maybe down the track want to do some ocean paddling but for now see me only paddling in the river.

Would a more stable ski be more suitable?
sorry for lengthy post, any advice would be much appreciated.
cheers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 3 weeks ago #33918 by [email protected]
Replied by [email protected] on topic Ski/Kayak Advice

i did find that on the ski due to my feet constantly under the strap I got numbness at times in my legs where I was able to move my legs slightly in the ski to relieve the numbness.

The thought that immediately springs to mind is whether you have the correct length set on the surfski and whether the footstrap is too tight.